David Cox

June 10-14, 2019 @ Amherst College


This is a conference to honor David Cox and his influence in several areas of Commutative Algebra and Algebraic Geometry, on occasion of his retirement in the summer of 2019.


conference photo

The theory and computation of Gröbner bases has grown to become an indispensable component of research in algebraic geometry and commutative algebra. Gröbner bases are used to develop intuition with explicit examples, to test conjectures, and in some cases to help create proofs. Gröbner techniques continue to make inroads in a range of applications, e.g. in computer vision , statistics and systems biology. Gröbner bases are available in excellent free software packages, such as CoCoA, SageMath, Macaulay2, and Singular, as well as in commercial algebra systems, such as Magma and Maple.

This conference will bring together graduate students and researchers at all levels to survey the state of the art in computational and combinatorial algebraic geometry. A special emphasis will be placed on 
illustrating how computation of Gröbner bases drives both theory and applications. In particular, speakers will cover advances in algorithms, toric varieties, Cox rings, syzygies, tropical algebraic geometry, geometric modeling, and applications to computer-aided-design (CAD).


  • Laurent Busé
  • Ana-Maria Castravet
  • Melody Chan
  • Falai Chen
  • Patrick Clarke
  • Carlos D’Andrea
  • Sandra di Rocco
  • Brendan Hassett
  • Milena Hering
  • Tony Iarrobino
  • Xiaohong Jia
  • Sheldon Katz
  • Sione Ma’u
  • Sam Payne
  • Tom Sederberg
  • Greg Smith
  • Ivan Soprunov
  • Evgenia Soprunova
  • Frank Sottile
  • Haohao Wang
  • Josephine Yu


Registration is now closed.

Scientific Committee 

Laurent Busé, INRIA Sophia Antipolis

Carlos D’Andrea, Universitat de Barcelona

Alicia Dickenstein, Universidad de Buenos Aires

Ron Goldman, Rice University

John Little, College of the Holy Cross

Nathan Pflueger, Amherst College

Hal Schenck, Iowa State

Jessica Sidman, Mount Holyoke College

Bernd Sturmfels, Max Planck Institute

Local Organizing Committee

Rob Benedetto, Amherst College

Greg Call, Amherst College

Nathan Pflueger, Amherst College

Jessica Sidman, Mount Holyoke College

Jenia Tevelev, UMass Amherst

Julianna Tymoczko, Smith College



We are grateful for support from Five Colleges Inc., Amherst College, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, UMass Amherst, NSF grant no. DMS 1903186, and Compositio.

Diversity and Inclusion Statement

The organizers are committed to an inclusive climate that encourages the open expression and exchange of ideas, that is free from all forms of discrimination, harassment, and retaliation. We strive to provide equal opportunities for all participants regardless of gender, gender identity or expression, sexual orientation, race, color, national or ethnic origin, religion or religious belief, age, marital status, disabilities, veteran status, field of expertise, or any other reason not related to scientific merit.